Gender or something like it. Part 1

As I’m sitting here overlooking my cohorts comments from the cohort blog my husband who is home sick is watching this show on cable about a gun shop.

I honestly wasn’t watching until a lady walked into the shop and wanted to order a pink gun. The male she was speaking to didn’t even know how to respond. So the woman manager walks up and orders “Yeah I’ve got this.”

I thought this was already an interesting example of the gender roles in our society. The man in the gun shop didn’t even feel comfortable talking about the color pink. But it still got better.

Later the woman manager was telling her husband about it, and the husband was visibly upset about a PINK gun and the two of them fought about it. The wife was saying “Its her choice and it makes her happy so who cares if its pink.” The husband was saying “this is a gun the military used to carry in the World Wars! I make guns for men in America!”

I’ll stop the recount there, the rest of the episode is not getting better (I’m live blogging here guys!)

This is a show on Discovery Channel, a reputable channel, right? This is what the majority of America is watching? Its wrong to like pink, and this woman who wants to be able to protect herself is subject to ridicule because of her color choice.

Leave a comment